Our Awardees & Their Accomplishments


Seth Blumberg, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Seth Blumberg is a member of the Neglected Tropical Disease Modeling Consortium which is funded by the Bill And Melinda Gates Foundation. He also serves as the lead investigator for UCSF’s MINDSCAPE grant which is a cooperative agreement with Center for Disease Control and Prevention’s Modeling Infectious Diseases in Healthcare Network. As a clinician he was awarded special recognition for human kindness and dedication to patient care at St Mary’s Medical Center in San Francisco (2016), and Infectious Disease Fellow Teacher of the Year for New York University School of Medicine (2019).

Neel Pasricha, MD

Assistant Professor

Dr. Neel Pasricha is a cornea specialist whose research focuses on ocular surface electrophysiology for dry eye disease. His interests involve utilizing innovative techniques to develop novel therapies for ocular surface diseases. In residency, he received the UCSF Hogan/Garcia Award for best resident research day presentation and was one of seven residents across UCSF to receive the UCSF Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Medical Education Award. In fellowship, he received a Heed Fellowship to pursue his cornea research interests at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute and was awarded Bascom Palmer Fellow of the Year.

Our Past Awardees & Their Accomplishments


Tyson Kim, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Tyson Kim's research program focuses on creating new methods for imaging into the living eye to study mechanisms of vascular development and disease. With support and mentorship from the UCSF-Proctor Clinician Vision K12 Scholars program, Tyson has garnered the BrightFocus Foundation New Investigator Award, the Research to Prevent Blindness Career Development Award, and the National Eye Institute K08 Clinician Scientist Development Award.

Cathy Sun, MD

Assistant Professor

Dr. Cathy Sun’s research program focuses on leveraging data from electronic health records to improve our understanding of clinical outcomes in ophthalmology through retrospective studies and pragmatic randomized controlled trials that compare novel clinical interventions and quality improvement measures to usual care. She has received a Mentoring for the Advancement of Physician Scientists Award from the American Glaucoma Society, was selected to be the inaugural scholar on the UCSF-Proctor Clinician Vision Scholars K12 program, and subsequently received a NEI K23 Career Development Award.