• UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program
  • UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program
  • UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program
  • UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program
  • UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program
  • UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program
  • UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program
  • UCSF Ophthalmology Residency Program

Residents' Awards and Accomplishments

Heed Foundation Award

The Heed Foundation’s mission is “To encourage and support education and research in ophthalmology and the ophthalmic sciences by providing postgraduate fellowships to individuals of exceptional ability. Education and research are the cornerstones of scientific advancement. The Heed Foundation promotes this advancement by providing postgraduate fellowship support to outstanding ophthalmologists who will pursue academic careers in ophthalmic patient care, education, and research.”

We are proud of the fact that the Heed Foundation has recognized many of our residency graduates in the past several years. In fact since 2009, the UCSF residency program is one of the most decorated programs in the US of Heed fellow awardees.

Recent UCSF resident graduates who have been awarded the Heed Fellowship:

Jeannette Stallworth, MD
Rolake Alabi, MD PhD
Benyam Kinde, MD
Lauren Hennein, MD
Leslie Everett, MD PhD
Neel Pasricha, MD
Frances Wu, MD
Frank Brodie, MD MBA
Michelle Peng, MD
Eugene Lowry, MD
Catherine Sun, MD
Kareem Moussa, MD
Joey Hsia, MD
Chris Aderman, MD
Ferhina Ali, MD
Sarah Deparis, MD
Euna Koo, MD
Qi Cui, MD, PhD
Debbie Kuo, MD
Allison Loh, MD
Michael Seider, MD
Shivali Menda, MD
Justin Baynham, MD
Michael Chen, MD
Alison Skalet, MD, PhD
Charles Lin, MD
Brett Shapiro, MD
Phoebe Lin, MD, PhD
Marielle Young, MD
Soraya Rofagha, MD, MPH
Shelley Day, MD
Isabella Phan, MD
Mimi Trager, MD
Mark Pennesi, MD, PhD
Tina Rutar, MD


Hogan/Garcia Award

The Hogan/Garcia Award was begun in 1978 by Dr. Francisco Garcia to honor Dr. Michael J. Hogan, Professor and Chairman, as a token of appreciation for his kindnesses to Dr. Garcia, personally, and for his fostering of good will and fellowship with our Latin American colleagues. The aim of this award is to recognize annually the best scientific paper given by a 2nd year or 3rd year resident during the academic year. The papers are judged by a committee for their scientific relevance, a quality that Dr. Hogan emphasized.

Recent UCSF residents who have been awarded the Hogan/Garcia Award include:

2023 - Lawrence Chan, MD
2022 – Anh Bui, MD, PhD
2021 – Benyam Kinde, MD, PhD
2020 - (Resident Research Day canceled due to COVID-19 Pandemic)
2019 - Neel Pasricha, MD
2018 - Frank Brodie, MD, MBA
2017 - Frank Brodie, MD, MBA
2016 - Irina de la Huerta, MD, PhD
2015 - Chris Aderman, MD
2014 - Debbie Kuo, MD
2013 - Noelle Layer, MD
2012 - Justin Baynham, MD



Garcia/Asbury Award

The Garcia/Asbury Award was begun in 2008 through the generosity of Dr. Francisco Garcia to honor Dr. Taylor Asbury for his many years of sponsorship of the original Asbury Award and to continue the original spirit and intent of the award. The aim of the award is to recognize annually the best clinical paper given by a 2nd or 3rd year resident during the academic year. The papers are judged by a committee based on two elements that Dr. Cordes always emphasized: clinical science merit and effectiveness of presentation.

Recent UCSF residents who have been awarded the Garcia/Asbury Award include:

2023 - Paul Micevych, MD
2022 - Stephanie Chen, MD
2021 - Murtaza Saifee, MD
2020 - (Resident Research Day canceled due to COVID-19 Pandemic)
2019 - Lesley Everett, MD, PhD
2018 - Davin Ashraf, MD
2017 - Julius Oatts, MD
2016 - Ferhina Ali, MD
2015 - Sarah Deparis, MD
2014 - Shilpa Desai, MD
2013 - Allison Loh, MD
2012 - Michael Seider, MD