All May See celebrates 50 years

With special honors to Stephen D. McLeod, MD, and Kathleen Rydar

After a two-year wait to celebrate the 50th anniversary of That Man May See/All May See and pay tribute to the contributions of Stephen D. McLeod, MD, former chair of UCSF Department of Ophthalmology, and Kathleen Rydar, President Emerita, All May See Foundation, the long-anticipated event took place on Thursday, December 1, 2022, at San Francisco’s Chase Center.

Over 150 distinguished guests including University of California and UCSF leadership, faculty, staff, donors, board members and friends united for a delightful cocktail reception, dinner, and live concert featuring Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli. In a heartwarming moment during the event, Michael V. Drake, MD, the 21st President of the University of California and ophthalmologist, surprised Dr. McLeod with the establishment of the Stephen D. McLeod, MD, Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology. Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD, Dean of the UCSF School of Medicine, proudly unveiled the Stephen D. McLeod, MD, Research and Equipment Fund. Dr. McLeod then presented President Emerita Kathleen Rydar with a certificate commemorating the Kathleen Rydar Inspiration Fund. This remarkable initiative has garnered more than $370,000 since its inception in 2020. The occasion also marked the warm welcome of Jacque Duncan, MD, as the new Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology, who was congratulated by All May See Foundation Board Chair John de Benedetti.

The event’s impact extended beyond mere celebration, as it raised $230,000 for vision research. Earlier in the year, a group of 75 generous donors contribute Clinical Specialtiesed $1,040,000 to establish the McLeod Endowed Chair and also to create the research and equipment fund in honor of Dr. McLeod.

With special thanks

We extend sincere gratitude to Don and Judy McCubbin, as well as the Wayne and Gladys Valley Foundation, for their significant contributions as lead donors of the McLeod Endowed Chair. Other notable event sponsors included the Koret Foundation, John Hall and Rebecca Derrington, The Ron Conway Family, Mo and John Pritzker, Nancy and Sandy Robertson, Nancy Voorhees, Leftwich Event Specialists, Inc., and two anonymous donors.

On behalf of the Board of Directors and staff of All May See, we express our heartfelt appreciation to everyone for their overwhelming and generous support.


Photos from the 50th Celebration

Ying Han, MD, PhD; Jacque Duncan, MD; Stephen D. McLeod, MD; Nisha Acharya, MD, MS; Neel Pasricha, MD; and, John Gonzales, MD
Michael V. Drake, MD, President, University of California honors Stephen D. McLeod, MD
Honoree Kathleen Rydar, President Emerita, All May See Foundation
John de Benedetti, All May See Foundation Board Chair
Frank Brodie, MD, MBA; Julie Schallhorn, MD, MS; Julius Oatts, MD; Maanasa Indaram, MD; and, Neeti Parikh, MD
Aparna Lakkaraju, PhD; Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD; and, Nailyn Rasool, MD, FRCPC, FRCSC
Stephen D. McLeod, MD; Elise McLeod; Thomas Lietman, MD, Chihori Lietman, MD; and, Marion Faymonville
Susan Koret and Helen Kim
Michael Desler and Margaret Desler, MD
Xin Duan, PhD; Bryan J. Winn, MD; Reza Vagefi, MD; Jay M. Stewart, MD
Barbara and Jeff Farber and All May See President, Deborah Chesky